Minecraft Mania

One of my favorite things about cake decorating is that each and every cake means a new challenge of some sort.

And I like challenges.  Well, sort of. This week I’ve also challenged myself to something new:  no desserts.

Funny thing is that when I told my coworkers (fellow dietitians), the result was confused looks and questions of “why??”  Most of us LOVE dessert, though partake responsibly. As a matter of fact, I tend to keep chocolate at my desk in case of bad days.  Consider it more of a medicine.  I figure it’s better than insanity.

But after all of these cake orders, I’d OD’ed on cake and frosting.  My body wanted to work out and eat fewer sweets. Note:  my mind did NOT love this idea. But I figured I would challenge myself. Just a few days of dessert-free living. Can’t be that hard, right? W-R-O-N-G!

Three days later (and one bad day yesterday), and I’m proud to have proved to myself that I can do it!! And now that I’ve proved it to myself, I have 2 more days and I’ll be having chocolate something-or-other. You know, to celebrate my not eating chocolate. Makes total sense…promise.

 

Another challenge I conquered not too long ago:  a Minecraft cake.

Apparently Minecraft is kind of a big deal.  Childless like me and have no idea what it is? Fear not. According to the super simplified description on their website, it’s a pixelated world in which players break and place blocks. Obviously there is more to it than that. But it’s pretty cute! And what a great challenge to make this cake. Not your typical birthday cake, which I love, and it brought a huge smile to the birthday boy’s face, which I also love. Here is the final product. Ignore the bad lighting. These were taken very late at night, so the “natural light” was not so good.

Minecraft Cake

Minecraft Cake Detail

On to more adventures!!

One thought on “Minecraft Mania

What are your thoughts?

