Banana Pudding, Revisited

You may remember a previous post.  It’s one of the most popular on the site!

That post is super old, so it was time for a remake.  Time for prettier pictures. Time to tell some funny stories about the last time my family made the banana pudding.

My mom made this pudding for our family’s Thanksgiving.  (While I made these sweet potatoes.) As per usual, hilarious moments happened the entire time.  Now allow me to preface this by saying that my family reads my blog, so we joked about the blog often that day.  To keep things short and sweet, funny moments will be bulleted:

  • When I first started this blog, my mom laughed as I took pictures of my food. Now, a couple of years later, she said “Ew, don’t take the picture with that background….Hang on.”  Then got out a towel for a better background.
  • While mashing the sweet potatoes, I heard a scream.  Turned around to see that the handle was stuck on the sink sprayer and water was going everywhere.  We both laughed for a while with that one.
  • The banana pudding may have been a few cookies short.  They were used by us to clean out the “leftover” pudding in the bowl.
  • **When I told my aunt Chrissy about this post, she said “will it be the real recipe this time?”  Which means, “you DID include the cream cheese, didn’t you??”  I laughed.  Yes, this is the “real” recipe. :)**

Banana Pudding

Makes …a lot. Maybe 10-12 servings?

Ingredients

  • 2 (1-ounce) boxes instant vanilla pudding mix (I use sugar-free)
  • 3 cups skim milk
  • 1 14-ounces can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 8-ounce container frozen whipped topping, thawed (I use fat free)
  • 4 ounces cream cheese, very soft
  • 2 large bananas
  • 1-2 packages Chessmen cookies (or shortbread cookies)

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, whisk together pudding mix, milk, and condensed milk for 1-2 minutes.
  2. Add cream cheese if desired and whisk to combine. Be sure the cream cheese is very soft so it will not be lumpy once it’s mixed in.
  3. Fold whipped topping into pudding mixture until well combined.
  4. Line bottom of separate container with cookies/wafers. You could also layer the side of the bowl.  If doing this, you can use some pudding as a “glue” so they stand up straight.
  5. Carefully layer half of the pudding mix and 1 1/2 sliced bananas on top.
  6. Repeat layering cookies, bananas, pudding. Top with final layer of cookies.

So there you have it! An updated post on one of my family’s favorite recipes…cream cheese included and everything. 😉

7 thoughts on “Banana Pudding, Revisited

  1. I am looking for a Banana Pudding Cake recipe that appeared on FB about a week ago and can not find it. Would you please help?

      • I found the banana pudding cake to be a bit on the dry side, any suggestions for more moisture, or do I suppose to be that way?

      • The cake is meant to be a little dryer texture for two reasons: 1) it makes it better resemble a shortbread cookie used in banana pudding, and 2) it can better absorb the milk mixture used in between layers.
        It is important to not over-mix the cake, so that it doesn’t come out very dry. It’s also important to use the milk mixture between layers as stated in the recipe. It may be helpful to poke holes in the layer with a toothpick first, then put the milk mixture over the layer (better if the layer is not cold) so it absorbs more of the milk mixture. This will make it more moist. This is a similar process to what you’d do with a tres leches cake (that we have here in the South).

      • I found the banana pudding cake to be a bit on the dry side, any suggestions for more moisture, or do It suppose to be that way?

  2. Pingback: Peak Performers | Little Bit Sweet

What are your thoughts?

