Lighten Up!: Sweet Potatoes with Crumble Topping

Every time I’m in the kitchen with my mom, it’s sure to be a good time.  Yes, because I’m spending time with her and catching up (though we talk on the phone daily). But mostly because we spend half of the time making dumb comments, intended or not, and laughing.  You’ll read a few of the latest in the next few posts.

I hope you’ve all had a wonderful Thanksgiving.  Mine was fantastic because I was able to get a couple days off to spend with family.

Well, and the food was great.  Let’s be honest, that alone makes it a good day.

Usually, my job is to make the turkey and help with a select few things.  This year, my aunt took over the turkey, which meant it was 100% cooked and no pieces had to be microwaved.  Apparently my family prefers their turkey sans salmonella.

I know, they’re picky. 😉

But I really appreciate that she cooked the turkey, lots of other yummy things, and had our family over at her house for Thanksgiving.  (Thanks, Aunt Chrissy!!) Plus, I got to focus my attention on sides and revamping my sweet potato recipe!

I love sweet potatoes.  Like, I don’t make them for myself often because I’ll eat them all.  That and because I can’t be trusted around an open bag of mini marshmallows. And my sweet potatoes recipe has always been good, but nothing really awesome.  Maybe because it was MUCH lighter than your traditional southern yams recipe.  (It IS my recipe after all)

Now I have a new version to offer that is, really, just as light.  But with far more flavor, texture, and looks prettier. Which, lets face it, means everything in the blogging world.  A pretty picture can really mean the difference between “Oh yes, I’ll try that recipe” and “A post with no pics?? Booooring!!”

So I bring to you the new and improved sweet potatoes recipe, with pictures. 🙂

Sweet Potatoes with Marshmallow Crumble

Makes 6 servings

  • 40oz can yams in syrup, drained and rinsed
  • Zest of 1 orange (~2 Tbsp)
  • Juice of 1/2 orange (~1/4 cup)
  • 1  1/2 Tablespoons packed light brown sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons light pancake syrup
  • 1  1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
    Topping:

    • 1/4 cup instant oats
    • 2 Tablespoons packed brown sugar
    • 2 Tablespoons flour
    • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
    • Dash nutmeg
    • 1 1/2 Tablespoons butter, melted
    • 1/2 Tablespoon canola oil
    • 1/4 cup finely chopped walnuts
    • 1 cup mini marshmallows

Preheat oven to 350 F.

In a medium bowl, mash together the drained and rinsed yams (sweet potatoes), orange zest, and orange juice.  Mash until desired texture.  Add brown sugar, syrup, and vanilla.  Mix well.

Spread mixture into the bottom of a 9X9 inch baking dish.

In a separate bowl, mix oats, brown sugar, flour, cinnamon, and nutmeg.

Add melted butter and oil.  Mix together until well incorporated and crumbly. Add walnuts and marshmallows and mix well. 

Sprinkle onto top of the sweet potatoes.

Bake at 350F for about 20 minutes.  Then place under broiler on high for 1-2 minutes or until marshmallows become slightly browned.

So there you have it, a little lighter than most traditional sweet potato casseroles. Not sure of the exact nutrition information because there isn’t information for drained and rinsed canned yams.  Bummer…

Let’s just say it’s lighter, very little added fat…even though there is a fair amount of sugar between the brown sugar, marshmallows, etc.  But still, lighter.  And still delicious! Hooray!

Back soon with an updated post on our family’s banana pudding recipe!

2 thoughts on “Lighten Up!: Sweet Potatoes with Crumble Topping

  1. Little Bit Sweet, I love you. My daughter just sent me your Banana Pudding Cake. That led me to your Sweet Potato w/Crumble Topping. I’m in Happy trouble. 🙂 #LoveYourPage

What are your thoughts?

