Franken-sweets

 

Last week was Halloween, but I’m still dealing with something pretty scary.  For a couple of weeks now, I’ve been trying to get used to my foods being a little less sweet.  And (<gasp>), I’m learning to like salty foods.  What is happening to me???

By now, it’s no surprise that I have a sweet tooth….teeth…whatever.  But I was NOT blessed with a fast metabolism.  I often joke that I gain 5lbs from looking at a cupcake. I’m not a fan of sickeningly sweet foods, but I do like a hint of sweetness.  If you’ve ever been to Europe, you know the level of sweetness I’m referring to.

But being a girl with a lazy metabolism, I can’t afford the calories from real sugar.  Plus, it’s not good for my health.  So for a LONG time now, I’ve turned to zero calorie sweeteners.

A selection of artificially sweetened items in my cabinet. Even my 100-caloire kettle corn!

Now, I will acknowledge the fact that there’s controversy about these.  Everything from them causing cancer, to slowing your metabolism, to affecting your moods, etc.  Me being the skeptic that I often am, I’ve done some research on all of this.  And the fact is that most studies say it’s fine in moderation.  So the bottom line is to not overload your system with the stuff.  (Think, 6 cans of diet soda or 30 packets of stevia)

I got to thinking…and I do use a lot of artificial sweeteners.  Even though they’re ok in moderation, was I really using moderation?  Let’s think:  Splenda or Truvia in my coffee (1-2 packets) or SF coffee creamer, zero calorie sweetener in my oatmeal, artificially sweetened drinks (diet coke, crystal light, tea, etc), aspartame in my favorite yogurt brand, on and on and on.  Holy cow!!!

No fake sugar here!

So I’ve started a journey, and I welcome you to come along.  I’m challenging myself to get a little more real or a little less sweet.  I’m learning to like my steel cut oats with some frozen berries for sweetness.  I’ve switched to plain greek yogurt with a bit of peanut butter and banana.
I’m also trying to get myself away from some of the sweetener in my coffee.  If I’m ever able to drink it with just a splash of skim milk…I’m throwing myself a party.
Seriously, I’d deserve it.

Will I ever use artificial sweetener, yes.

If you disagree with this, that’s your opinion.  I value it and you’re entitled to it.

My sweetener of choice when I use it is stevia, which is more natural.  Unless it’s in diet sodas or drinks. A girl has to have her indulgences, and those are mine.

This shows sugar content in common beverages. Yikes!!
Which is why I will still have a diet soda on occasion. I don’t want to drink 1/4 cup of sugar.

So stay tuned for more recipes, and for more on my journey to days with fewer zero calorie sweeteners.  Though let’s be real, I will always have a sweet tooth and enjoy my treats. My metabolism will get it’s butt kicked in the gym. 🙂

Question of the day:  What food habits have you gotten into and had to change or would like to change?  Or, better yet, what is your guilty pleasure when it comes to eats/treats?

One thought on “Franken-sweets

  1. I’ve learned that “diet” drinks make me hungry and more apt to eat between meals! Lots of veggies, especially those with a lot of fiber, mean satiety value to me!

What are your thoughts?

