Perusing New Products

Happy Labor day, everyone!!

Labor day may mean that fall is on the way, but it’s still 100 degrees where I live…so summer is still upon us.

Anyways, on to today’s post!

I’ve found some products lately that I LOVE, and thought now would be a good time to share with everyone.  I’m constantly perusing the grocery store for new and exciting foods, and try to look for new and healthier options for foods I already know and love. So here are a few of my current favorites:
*Note:  I haven’t been asked or paid to talk about these products.  They’re just things I’ve found and love 🙂  Also, all rights belong to the products’ respective companies*

File:വാഴക്കുല 04.JPG

Pic source: Wikimedia commons

Mini Bananas

These adorable little bananas are my new favorite produce find.  They’re so stinking cute!! AND if you’re like me and never eat an entire banana because they’re enormous and you only want a few slices on your morning cereal, these are perfect. (Whew, run-on sentence…)

I love these, though they are a little harder to peel since their peel is thinner than a regular banana. They would be perfect for kids or kids at heart!

Taste:  A little sweeter than regular bananas to me. The texture is a mix between a plantain and a banana.

Nutrition:  According to a few sources online, it’s about 45 calories, 12g carbohydrates, and 0.5g fiber per banana.

Where to find:  Your local grocery store!  I’ve even seen them in Walmart.

Almond Breeze Almond/Coconut Milk

This is one of my new favorite milk substitutes.  I do love regular skim milk and light soymilk, but I’m on the lookout for other milks that taste good but are low in calories (and high in nutrient content if possible). This fits the bill perfectly!  I usually a NOT a fan of almond milk.  Goodness knows I’ve tried to like it.  And coconut milk is too high in saturated fat for my taste.
But this blend is amazing!  Here’s the scoop:

Taste:  The unsweetened kind is my favorite.  It has a hint of almond milk flavor, but also has a distinct coconut quality to it as well. The sweetened version tastes less like coconut, if you’d prefer that.

Nutrition:  Click this link to see all the varieties.  The unsweetened original as 45 calories, 3.5g Fat, 1g Carbs, and 1g Protein per cup.  It also has 25% Calcium and Vitamin D!

Where to find:  I found it at Walmart and Central Market.  Check their website to find the closest retailer in your area!

Kim’s Magic Pop

Source: Amazon.com

Rice cake, meet tostada, meet awesome-ness.  Not sure how long these have been on the market, but I recently saw them for the first time at my local Central Market.  I was intrigued that they were very large for only 15 calories and seemed like a great substitute for rice cakes or chips.  Super delicious with hummus!!

Taste:  Depends on the flavor.  I’ve tried the original and whole wheat.  The original kind of reminded me of the taste of smores, which sounds strange, but it would be a great base for desserts!  The whole wheat was really good. Downfall, they get soggy with liquid content (like salsa).

Nutrition:  15 calories per pop (about 6 inches in diameter).  Not a ton of nutritional value here.

Where to find:  I bought them at Central Market.  You can also find them online.

Kashi Heart to Heart Nutty Chia Flax Cereal

Package shot for Kashi® Heart to Heart® Nutty Chia Flax

Source: Kashi.com

I love Kashi products.  They’re nutritious, yet taste great.  Win!
This cereal is no exception.  I was pleased with the nutrition label, and really like the taste! Only drawback: the chia and flax seeds got stuck in my teeth really easily.  May want to have floss on hand.

Taste:  Sweet, nutty, and delicious.  You can taste that it is a whole grain cereal…meaning, it’s not overly sweet and doesn’t taste artificial. Overall, yum!  Minus the whole “seeds in the teeth” situation.

Nutrition: 3/4 cup has 110 Calories, 2.5g Fat (including 320mg Omega 3s), 6g Fiber, 7g Sugar, 3g Protein.

Where to find:  Wherever you find Kashi products. I bought mine at Target.

 

So there you have it.  New products to try!  Yay!
Do you have a favorite new product?  Comment and share!

What are your thoughts?

