Co-Op Experience, Revisited

A while back, I posted about my experience with Bountiful Baskets. It’s a fruit and vegetable co-op where I get lots of fresh fruits and veggies for not a ton of cash.

Here’s an update:  I still love it!!!

Despite the fact that I have to wake up early on a Saturday to pick up my basket (my site’s pick-up time is 7:30am), I love the entire experience.  The people at my site are super friendly and there is something about getting a ton of fresh produce that just makes me smile.  Yes, I’m a foodie.

Basket pick-up bright and early!

This week’s basket:

Soon, I’ll be posting about healthy eating on a budget, and this co-op will DEFINITELY be part of the post.  It’s such a great deal!! Here’s what I got for $15:

  • Baby carrots
  • 2 bundles green onion
  • Lettuce
  • Spinach
  • 1 English cucumber
  • 5 Roma tomatoes
  • 2 Avocadoes
  • 3 Mangoes
  • Red grapes
  • 1 Pineapple
  • 7 Bananas
  • 9 Plums

And here’s the first meal I made with some of the basket:

Spinach and cheese tofu scramble (You can use eggs instead). Yum!

Such a yummy breakfast!!

Check back soon for “Healthy Eating on a Budget”!

What are your thoughts?

