Wake Up!: Peach Crisp Oatmeal

It’s about that time, folks.  Time for another yummy breakfast recipe!

And this time, I’m combining one of my favorite breakfasts (oatmeal) with a favorite dessert.  Peach crisp!

Goooood morning!! 🙂

This week, Bountiful Baskets included lots of peaches and plums, so now it’s time to figure out how in the world I’m going to use them.  Along with a little watermelon, pineapple, bananas, mangoes, grapes……  You might be seeing more fruit recipes on here soon.

If you like a warm and healthy breakfast that tastes like dessert, you’ll LOVE this!  Perfect for weekend brunch, breakfast for guests, or any day.  And your house will smell AMAZING when it bakes. Not as crispy as peach crisp, but has the same flavor.

Perfect for brunch….along with coffee.

Fun story:  Growing up, my grandma (mom’s side…”granny” that I’ve mentioned before is my dad’s mom) always had a ton of peaches every season.  They had a few peach trees in their yard, and these trees meant business.  I can’t tell you how much I learned about when peaches are ready to pick, how to salvage ones the birds claimed, and the proper way to peel and freeze the peaches so you’d have them year round.  Seriously, their freezer turned into a peach storage unit.  And I cherish the time I spent helping my grandma peel and slice them.  I might have mangled many, but she always thanked me for my help.

Peach Crisp Oatmeal

Makes 1 serving

  • 1 small peach, peeled and cut into small pieces
  • 1/3 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1 Tbsp flour (all purpose, whole wheat, or GF flour)
  • 3 Tbsp unsweetened applesauce
  • 3 Tbsp water
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch nutmeg
  • pinch salt
  • 1 packet Truvia
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 375 F. Spray a loaf pan (or similar sized pan) with nonstick cooking spray.

In a medium bowl, combine all ingredients except for the diced peach.  Mix well, ensuring ingredients are well combined.

Add peaches and mix well.

Pour into baking dish and bake for 15 minutes.

If you’d like, top with a little nonfat milk to make it even more delicious. 🙂

Estimated nutrition information (not including nonfat milk garnish): 206 Calories, 3.1g Fat, 0.4g Saturated fat, 299mg Sodium, 283mg Potassium, 46g Carbohydrates, 6g Fiber, 15g Sugar, 5.1g Protein

This also has 53.8% DV Vitamin C and 11.4% DV Iron.  Yay!

Remember, fruit has natural sugar (fructose) so the sugar that you see in this recipe’s nutrition info is from the fruit’s sugar.

And this recipe is very filling…a definite must for me.  I am not a fan of breakfasts that leave you hungry mid morning.

 

Now, back to figuring out how in the heck to use the rest of this fruit…..

What are your thoughts?

