Recipe review: Skinny Pancakes

There are a few foods that I rarely ever eat. (Notice, I did NOT say “never”)

I rarely ever only have pancakes for breakfast. I love pancakes, don’t get me wrong. But they’re usually all carbs with no fiber and protein, leaving me hungry way before lunch time.

So when I found a recipe on Pinterest for “skinny” pancakes that would be healthful and filling, I was intrigued.

Yum!!

Ok, so I ALWAYS refer back to a recipe I’m writing about if I’m not the original author. However, I can’t find the origin of the pin that contains this recipe. So I’m sharing it here. Kudos go to the original author. 🙂

Here’s the recipe and instructions, then my review below:

Skinny Pancakes

Makes 1 serving

  • 1/2 cup oats (instant or old fashioned oats)
  • 1/2 very ripe banana (about 3″)
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • Tiny pinch of salt (I added this to the recipe)

Place all ingredients in a blender. Blend on high about 20 seconds.

Cook on hot griddle that has been sprayed with nonstick cooking spray.

Estimated nutrition information (entire recipe): 237 Calories, 3.2g Fat, 0.6g Saturated fat, 220mg Potassium, 307mg Sodium, 39g Carbohydrates, 5.5g Fiber, 7.5g Sugars, 11.5g Protein

Now my review:

They were good! Much more dense than regular pancakes. These are not IHOP’s fluffy short stack. But if you’re wanting pancakes that are a bit more filling and nutritious, these may be for you. Try them out and tell me what you think!

Final verdict: I would make them again. Although they’re not a dead ringer for my favorite flapjacks.

 

What are your thoughts?

