Homemade Marshmallow Fluff: Take 1

Think back to your childhood.  Did you ever have a favorite treat?

When I was a kid, I was a connoisseur of snack cakes.  All kinds.

But, I definitely had a few favorites.  Swiss rolls, Oatmeal pies, Cosmic brownies, Snowballs….

 

What was I saying?

 

Oh yes, I decided to recreate one of my (apparently many) favorite snack cakes from when I was a kid:  Hostess Cupcakes!

The “how-to” for that is coming to your computer screen soon.  But we’ll take it in parts.

First, we have to talk about how to make the marshmallow fluff filling in the cupcake.  Now yes, you can buy marshmallow fluff.  As a matter of fact, when I told my mom I was going to make fluff, she said “you do know you can buy that right?? And it’s not expensive”   But I wanted to make it myself.  I rather enjoy creating things from scratch that I could buy in the store.  It just feels good to know exactly what is going into it (or what isn’t…)

Plus, I’d already changed into my comfy lounge pants for the night and I really really didn’t feel like going to the grocery store.

So I set out to make marshmallow fluff.  But I also didn’t feel like cooking the sugar and corn syrup.  I found a recipe that didn’t require cooking and looked simple enough.  I’ve altered the recipe a bit based on a few different “no cook” recipes I’d found.

The result?  It was delicious!! But it just wasn’t….right.  It turned out to be a wonderful filling for the cupcakes.  However, it’s not exactly marshmallow fluff.  The honey separated from the whipped egg whites as it sat in the fridge.  This led to very moist cupcakes and everyone loved them, but I wasn’t able to use the leftover “fluff” for anything because it deflated a little upon separating.  Back to the drawing board I go for homemade marshmallow fluff.

But I still want to share this recipe.  It’s NOT marshmallow fluff, so I’m changing the name to “soft meringue filling” because that’s essentially what this is.  Yummy and a great filling, but not something that lives up to the “marshmallow fluff” name.

Soft Meringue Filling

Makes ~3 cups soft meringue

  • 6 Tbsp pasteurized liquid egg whites (You can find these in a box by the Egg Beaters)
  • 4oz honey
  • 3oz light corn syrup
  • pinch salt
  • 1-1 1/2 tsp vanilla

Place egg whites, honey, corn syrup, and salt in mixing bowl.  Whip at high speed for 10 minutes.

What would I do without my KitchenAid??

Add vanilla and whip additional 30 seconds.  Stir.

Refrigerate after making. But it’s best if you use it right away.  It WILL separate after hours of refrigeration and you’ll have “not so fluffy” filling.

Note:  Use pasteurized liquid egg whites because the mixture will not be cooked. This ensures you will not get contamination of salmonella or other bacteria.  (Meaning this won’t make you sick… you don’t want to take that chance)

Click here to see how to use this to make homemade Hostess cupcakes!!

Use this filling to make these yummy cupcakes!

What are your thoughts?

