Why buy it when you can make it?

Have you ever asked yourself that question?  If it’s something that can easily be made at home, why would you buy it?

Well, other than the fact that it’s typically easier and faster to pull something off of a shelf.  But making things at home is cheaper, there are no mystery ingredients, and it usually tastes better.

…..in theory.

Today, that theory was WRONG!!

I’ve had a few baking/cooking blunders in my day. There will be a post on that soon enough.  But I usually don’t fail too terribly in the kitchen. And I try to take the “if at first you don’t succeed, try again” approach.

This time, maybe not so much.  I tried (rather unsuccessfully) to make my own cottage cheese.

Here is the post and recipe I used.
The only thing I changed:  I used 2 cups skim milk and 1 Tbsp vinegar.

Um yea, it didn’t turn out very well.  It yielded a sad little amount of cottage cheese (about 1/8-1/4 cup), the curds were rubbery, and it still tasted a smidge like vinegar.  Which, consequently, is not what I want my breakfast of cottage cheese and pineapple to taste like.

I will probably give this a go one more time…because I’m stubborn and don’t take failure well. But next time, I will use more milk, probably throw in a little bit of 2% or at least 1% milk to try to make it a creamier texture, and try it with a little less vinegar.

…..or I’ll just buy my little thing of cottage cheese from my grocery store and laugh about the time I tried to make my own.  (This is a very likely outcome)

Oh well, such is life and cooking.  Have you ever tried to make your own cottage cheese?  How’d it go?

2 thoughts on “Why buy it when you can make it?

  1. Isn’t it the fat in the milk that has to react with the vinegar to make it curdle? If so, then light fluffy cottage cheese is best from whole milk. The grocery store kind is much easier!!! And a question………..why does German choc that comes in a bar, not set up fairly quickly (I was dipping pretzels) like other chocolates??? Aunt Pat

    • Hi Aunt Pat! Whole milk would probably work best but I never have it around. Plus, you know me, trying to make it as healthy as I can so whole milk has more saturated fat than I’d like for day to day use.
      As for the German chocolate….I’m not sure! For dipping pretzels and fruits, I tend to combine semi-sweet chocolate chips with a little Crisco and it usually turns out well. 🙂 I wonder if adding a bit of Crisco to the German chocolate would work? Hmm…

What are your thoughts?

