Little Bit Savory: Zucchini Chips

Truth be told, I’ve never really been a potato chip person.

Well, at least not plain potato chips.  But give me a flavored chip (or tortilla chips with salsa) and I’m a happy camper.

There’s just something about the crunchiness of a chip along with a little salty flavor…mmm!

But is it unfair to ask for a chip that is flavorful and doesn’t have gobs of fat and calories? I think not!  So I set out to make “chips” at home that fit the bill. The result?

Boom baby!  Crispy, flavorful, light. And a delicious way of having your veggies….and enjoying them too. 😉

Baked Zucchini Chips

Makes 2 servings

  • 1 medium zucchini
  • 1/4 cup plain nonfat yogurt
  • 1/3 cup Italian-style breadcrumbs
  • 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes (optional)

Preheat oven to 400 F. Spray a cooling rack with nonstick cooking spray and place onto a baking sheet. (Do NOT skip this step!  Trust me, they will stick to the cooling rack….badly)

Decide whether you’d like to peel your zucchini.  Your choice.  I partially peeled mine.

Using a mandolin slicer, or a knife if you’re good like that, slice zucchini into 1/16 in slices.  If you can’t get it that thin, that’s ok too, it just might mean some extra baking time.

Pat zucchini slices down with a paper towel to dry them.

Place yogurt into a shallow bowl.  In another shallow bowl, mix breadcrumbs and red pepper.

Dip each zucchini slice into the yogurt and scrape on side of bowl to remove the bulk of the yogurt.  You really only want a very very thin layer (just enough to make breadcrumbs stick). If you find it easier, you can lay out all of the zucchini slices and brush with yogurt.

Dip zucchini slices into breadcrumb mixture and shake to remove excess.  Place on prepared cooling rack.

Bake at 400 F for about 30 minutes, or until browning and crispy.  Serve immediately.

Estimated nutrition information (per serving):  102 Calories, 1.2g Fat, 0.4g Saturated fat, 157g Sodium, 295mg Potassium, 19g Carbohydrates, 1.7g Fiber, 4.7g Protein

Nutrition stats may actually be less, because I didn’t use all of the yogurt or breadcrumbs…but still included them in the nutrition info just in case.

A few disclosures:

  • You may be able to use milk instead of yogurt, since you only need a thin layer.  But I haven’t tested that theory.  Plus, I like the added flavor from the plain yogurt.
  • My zucchini slices were not all uniform, so the 1/16th inch slices is a guess based on which of my slices were nice and crispy.  Remember how I said you can slice with a knife if you’re good like that?  Yea, apparently I’m not that good!
  • If you have leftovers, place them into a sealed plastic bag.  I recommend placing them in the fridge to ensure they won’t go bad.  However, they won’t be crispy after they’ve lived in the fridge.
  • I found out the non-crispy ones are EXCELLENT dipped in marinara sauce 🙂
3 thoughts on “Little Bit Savory: Zucchini Chips

  1. What a fantastic idea!!! I actually have all the ingredients for these right now… can’t wait to make them! I love zucchini, it’s one of my favourite vegetables. Do you reckon these would work well with panko breadcrumbs? Thanks for the recipe!

  2. Great idea! I would never have used yoghurt to coat the courgettes, but its a great idea. I have an abundance of courgettes still growing in the garden, so I think I will be trying this recipe out soon!!
    Thanks!

What are your thoughts?

