Wake Up!: Banana Bran Muffins

Ok, ok, ok.  I know.  I’ve written about banana bread type recipes a lot.  Like here and here.

I’ve also included banana in a LOOOOOT of my postings.  (Click here, here, or my personal fav here)

So, yes, I love bananas!  Well, that and I always seem to have uber brown bananas hanging around in my kitchen or freezer that I need to use.

My love for bananas and banana bread strikes again with this new muffin recipe.  I’ve posted about banana bread muffins before, but these have an important difference:  more fiber!!

I always try to get fiber and protein in my breakfast.  It helps fill me up and keep me full until lunch time.  So I wanted to make a muffin with more fiber.  Enter, this:

Banana Muffins.  No flour, High fiber. Yum!

Banana Bran Muffins

Makes 11 muffins

  • 2/3 cup Fiber One original bran cereal
  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup mashed banana
  • 4 oz light vanilla yogurt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 350 F.  Line a muffin tin with paper liners.

Place Fiber One cereal and oats in a food processor.  Blend until the mixture is a fine crumb. It will look like this:

Banana Muffins.  No flour, high fiber. Yum!

In a separate mixing bowl, stir sugar and butter together until light and fluffy.  Add egg and blend well.  Add mashed banana, yogurt, and vanilla extract.  Stir until well mixed.

Add cereal and oat mixture, baking soda, and salt.  Mix just until all ingredients are blended.

Fill muffin tins until about 3/4 full.  Bake at 350 F for ~25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

Estimated nutrition information (per muffin):  119 Calories, 4.9g Fat, 2.8g Saturated fat, 17.9g Carbohydrates, 2.3g Fiber, 11.7g Sugar, 1.5g Protein

**Disclaimer:  These do not have a “muffin” consistency.  And don’t be alarmed when they sink a bit as they cool.  They’re more dense and turn out to be a bit gooey in the middle…which I actually like with these because it bring out the banana taste a bit more.**

Banana Muffins. No flour, higher fiber.  Great for breakfast on the go!

Best thing about these?  They travel!  Perfect for an on-the-go breakfast.

Yummm!!!

2 thoughts on “Wake Up!: Banana Bran Muffins

What are your thoughts?

