Li’l Bit Savory: Quick Chicken Cacciatore

Italy has forever ruined “Italian” restaurants for me.  Lets be real, when you’ve tasted a cuisine, any cuisine, in it’s country of origin…it will never be the same after you leave that region.  And, since I love Italian food (real Italian food)….I’m moving to Italy!!

 

Totally joking.

 

But I DO think it’s time for me to visit the wonderful country again.  I’ve been lucky enough to visit Rome, Assisi, and Florence (my fave) in two separate trips to Europe with my mom.  She’s my travel buddy.

When in Rome, you’ll find food that looks like this:

And after dinner delights that look like this:   Gelato is AMAZING!!

Anytime I want a little reminder of my short time in Italy, I turn to their food.  One of my favorite weeknight Italian dinners is Chicken Cacciatore.  But I need a quick version, so this is how my recipe goes:

Quick Chicken Cacciatore

Makes 4 servings

  • 1 pound chicken breast cutlets
  • 2 red bell peppers, sliced
  • 1 small yellow onion, sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 1/2 cups marinara sauce of choice (I used Hunt’s Traditional marinara)
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • 1/2 tsp Italian seasoning
  • Couple tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Shaved Parmesan cheese, if desired

In a large saute pan, heat small amount of olive oil over medium-high heat.  When oil is warm, add sliced bell pepper and onion.  Saute until veggies begin to soften.  Add garlic and saute until onion is tender, stirring occasionally.  Add 1/4 cup white wine and stir, scraping browned pieces off bottom of the pan.

Transfer veggies to a bowl and cover with foil.  In the same heated pan, add a bit more olive oil.  Sprinkle each side of chicken tenderloins with salt, pepper, and italian seasoning. Cook chicken 4-6 minutes on each side, or until no longer pink in the center.

Add veggies back into the pan with the chicken.  Add remaining 1/4 cup white wine and scrape bottom of pan.  Add marinara sauce and stir.  Simmer another 5 minutes or until sauce is slightly reduced.  Season with salt/pepper to taste.

Serve over pasta if desired.

I put mine over tofu shirataki angel hair noodles.  They’re these funky noodles made from tofu.  Learn more about them from the awesome Hungry-Girl.com.  (Btw, LOVE her site.  Check it out!)

Here are a few more Italy pictures for your viewing pleasure. Click to view larger shots. 🙂  I can’t wait to go back!!

What are your thoughts?

