Chocolate (Vegan) Cake

Happy Friday everyone!! I know what you’re thinking “Yes! The weekend is almost here.  Time to celebrate with chocolate cupcakes!”      ….What?  That’s not what you’re thinking.  Hmm, guess I’m not psychic.
Either way, this post is all about a wonderful recipe find for homemade chocolate cake that isn’t dry as a bone and is 100% vegan.  I, myself, am an omnivore.  But I do have veggie and vegan friends that I like to accommodate as well. 🙂

Now all of you omnivores out there, keep an open mind here.  Vegan does NOT mean “gross” or “tasteless” or …believe it or not… “healthy”.  There is still sugar, cocoa powder, and all of the other favorite things you love in a cupcake.  It just means that if you’re out of eggs or milk, you’re in luck here. (I happen to always be out of milk and/or eggs when I go to make a new recipe…Murphy’s Law)

This is the best chocolate cake recipe I’ve found, by far.  Usually home baked chocolate cake turns out very dry.  This is the wonderful exception, and will be my go-to chocolate cake recipe from now on.

Since it’s not my recipe, and I only changed a few things on it, I’m just posting the link instead of typing it all out here.  Here’s the link:  http://www.food.com/
Now here is what I changed:

  1. I used canola oil in place of vegetable oil.
  2. I didn’t make this frosting recipe, so I can’t vouch for that.  I used buttercream.  Click here for my buttercream recipe.

Now let’s get baking!  Hope everyone has a great weekend!

What are your thoughts?

