Li’l Bit Savory: Mini Microwavable Pizzas

For some time now, I’ve thought “I should really post some of my savory recipes on the site too.”  After all, I don’t have sweets with EVERY meal and there are some really good recipes/ideas I’d like to share that aren’t sweet.  Don’t get me wrong, sweets will always be the predominate part of this website.  I love sweets…unfortunately.  Matter of fact I’m typing this in my favorite coffee shop with a cafe au lait and an M&M cookie (my fav).

So anywho, as part of my back to school week postings I figured I would begin posting a few savory recipes that you can try.  I posted about ranch dressing earlier this week (click here for that) and now, we’re moving on to a kid favorite:  Pizza!!

Yes, kids love pizza …so do adults… and there is a way to satisfy a pizza craving without having a cheesy, greasy, pie delivered to your house.  You don’t even have to heat the oven for a frozen pizza or pop Totino’s pizza rolls in the microwave.  This is MUCH healthier and faster to make.

Mini Microwavable Pizzas

Makes 2 small pizzas (1 serving)

  • 100 calorie sandwich thin bun (I used Nature’s Own whole wheat sandwich thins)
  • 2 Tbsp Hunt’s traditional marinara sauce (or your fav marinara)
  • 1/3 cup part skim mozzarella cheese
  • 8 slices turkey pepperoni (I used Hormel brand)

Separate two pieces of the sandwich bun and place in a toaster.  Toast until well browned.

Spread 1 Tbsp marinara sauce on each of the toasted pieces of bread. Sprinkle with cheese, dividing the cheese evenly between the two pieces. Place 4 slices of pepperoni on each piece.

Microwave on HIGH for 30-40 seconds.

Estimated Nutrition Information (entire recipe):  257 Calories, 11.9 g Fat, 24.1 g Carbs, 5.8 g Fiber, 4.2 g Sugar, 24.9 g Protein

Perfect snack or main dish for the kiddos?  I think so!  Or, you know, for adults like me that still want to be kids.  Whichever.  MUCH better nutrition stats than a slice of pizza or Totino’s pizza rolls.  Best of all? The kids can totally make these by themselves!! (May need help with the toaster if they’re young)

Be back soon with more recipes!!

What are your thoughts?

