Chewy Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

If it’s not broken, don’t fix it, right?  Well, that’s true most of the time.  But what if changing something will make it even better??

Time to combine the best of two cookies:  the chewy texture of an oatmeal cookie, and the chocolate-y awesomeness of a chocolate chip cookie.  YUM!!!

I could go on, but these cookies speak for themselves so this will be a short post 🙂

Now, there’s a lighter version on the site as well.  Click here for the lighter recipe with half of the saturated fat.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Recipe from Betty Crocker

Makes 40 cookies

  • 1 1/2 cups packed light brown sugar
  • 1 cup butter or margarine, softened
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 egg (or 2 egg whites)
  • 2 cups quick cooking oats
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 F.

In a large bowl, stir brown sugar and butter until blended.  Stir in vanilla and egg until mixture is light and fluffy.  Stir in oats, flour, baking soda, and salt. Stir in chocolate chips.

Drop dough by rounded tablespoons onto ungreased cookie sheets.  Bake 9-11 minutes or until slightly golden.  Allow to cool on baking sheet for a few minutes, then move to cooling racks to cool completely.

Estimated nutrition information (per cookie):  133 Calories, 6.6g Fat, 4g Saturated fat, 69g Sodium, 18g Carbohydrates, 0.6g Fiber, 11.3g Sugar, 1.3g Protein

16 thoughts on “Chewy Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. These cookies are the best – everyone loved ’em! I refriegerated the dough for about 30 minutes before cooking to help prevent them from totally flattening out. I baked mine for 9 minutes and after they cooled, they were perfect – thick and chewy. Thank you for the great recipe!

  2. These were super delicious I used old fashioned oats because that is what I had but I threw them in the food processor for a minute first. Soo good..crispy edges and chewy centers. We also used dark chocolate morsels and I was hesitant to change it but it was great!! Yummy!! Best Cookies I have made!

  3. These turned out amazing! Yummy, thank you. I used 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour and 1 cup white flour. I didn’t have enough quick oats by about 1/4 cup and used old fashioned rolled oats for thr missing amount and put in Dark chocolate chips. My hubby and I absolutely love them.

  4. I used 1/2 cup butter, 1/4 cup plain greek yogurt, and 1 cup white flour, 1/2 cup whole wheat. They were great. My kids LOVE them. I think I’ll try coconut oil instead of butter next time. Thanks for the recipe!

  5. Pingback: Chewy Gooey Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies | Sassy Suburbanite

  6. Made these tonight. Used 1/2 cup whole wheat flower & 1 cup white whole wheat, old fashioned oats, (added) 1 tbsp wheat germ & 1 tbsp milled flax. They came out delicious and my kids loved them!

  7. I used 1 cup butter and 1 cup of coconut oil and they flatten out and crumbled apart when I took them off the cookie sheets. I did double the recipe. Very disappointed!

    • Sorry to hear they didn’t work out for you! Perhaps try just the butter next time as the texture of coconut oil makes for different final results. Or you can refrigerate the dough for a while before baking.

  8. Just made these and they were perfect and so easy! My son has allergies so instead of the eggs i used 3 tbsps of apple sauce. Turned oit great! I’ll definitely use this recipe again 😊

What are your thoughts?

