Adventures in Cheesecake Making: Take 2

Remember when a co-worker convinced me to make a cheesecake?  <Click here if not>  Welllll, another coworker got cheesecake envy and convinced me to take another stab at cheesecake perfection.  So here it goes…

This time, it was a strawberry cheesecake.  But I was NOT going to give up on making a crack-free cheesecake so I just added strawberry topping to the top of it.  Lazy? Maybe, but I had to try to get the plain cheesecake right.

Turns out, ….well it didn’t turn out. Still cracked!! And this time, I didn’t open the oven door.  I DID, however, see the thing rise to high heaven in my oven.  It was about an inch or so above the top of the springform pan when the hour of baking was almost complete.  I got a little freaked and cut the oven off a little early.  Thankfully, it slowly went back into the pan.

When I put the strawberry topping on, nobody could tell there was a crack…but I knew the little sucker was still there….

So here’s the deal: I know people will see this post and have an opinion.  Whether it is an old tale their grandma used to tell them or just something a friend has said about making cheesecakes. If you’re one of these people with any insight or opinion whatsoever, please comment below and share!!! I LOVE hearing feedback.  (I mean, let’s face it, if I didn’t want people reading my posts and the interaction…I wouldn’t have created a site in the first place)

However, here are a few key points:  1. I am determined to do this without a water bath. (They freak me the heck out…I’m prone to accidents and burning myself)   and 2. I’d like to perfect a plain cheesecake prior to moving into flavored ones.

Thanks for any and all help you (any of you) can provide!!  Rest assured, this will not be my last cheesecake. Now, it’s me vs. them and darn it, I will come out on top! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Adventures in Cheesecake Making: Take 2

  1. Haha!
    (I’m not laughing at you… I’m laughing with you!)
    … because this whole story has totally happened to me.
    This is my story: http://recipeshappen.com/2012/07/04/the-long-awaited-cheesecake-disaster-involving-the-smoke-alarm/

    As far as tips! I don’t know yet how to make an amazing cheesecake, but my sister Tammy and her husband are really amazing at them! Example: http://www.tammysrecipes.com/slow_baked_new_york_cheesecake

    But anyway, thanks for sharing this story. 🙂

    Bonnie
    http://www.recipeshappen.com
    http://www.facebook.com/recipeshappen

    • Ha!! You’re right Bonnie, our stories sound pretty similar. I really enjoyed reading yours. I’ve had QUITE a few baking mishaps myself…and they will be chronicled in an “oops” post eventually.

      Your sister’s post looks fabulous! If I kneel to the world of a water bath, I’ll definitely try it. 🙂

  2. Try cooking it for about 45 minutes or at least when the middle sets then it won’t crack my first time it came out perfect now I just don’t know what’s wrong with my cheesecakes

What are your thoughts?

