Simple ‘n Sweet Coconut Macaroons

I love coconut.  Confession:  I’ll eat it straight from the bag. (Shh don’t tell…)

 

I also love easy desserts.  So this recipe is definitely a win-win. It has 5 ingredients, takes 12 minutes to bake, and clean-up is a breeze. For the record, cleaning is my least favorite part of baking.  Matter-of-fact, every time I bake when I’m at my parents’ house, my mom nicely reminds me that she would like her kitchen put back into working order. (Yet somehow, I was able to get out of cleaning the bowl when I made these cookies. Score!)

 

These are pretty sweet, and very coconut-y.  If that’s your thing, you’ll love them.  If not, I’ll post another macaroon recipe at some point that uses egg whites instead of sweetened condensed milk that will probably be more your style.

Easy Coconut Macaroons

Makes about 20 cookies.

Tweaked from this recipe.

  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 5 1/2 cups flaked coconut (mine was sweetened)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 (14 oz) can sweetened condensed milk
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 F and like cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, stir together flour, salt, and coconut until well combined. You don’t want any clumps of flour.

Stir in sweetened condensed milk and extract until well mixed. Drop golf ball or egg sized amounts onto cookie sheets. They don’t spread, so you can put them fairly close together.

Bake 12-15 minutes or until slightly golden.

If you want to be extra sweet and sinful, you can drizzle them with Nutella or strawberry syrup. I like them plain. So yummy!!

 

What is your favorite simple sweets recipe?

What are your thoughts?

