Trifling Need for Rocky Road

Well, back in College Station for the weekend to visit friends and I found myself with another opportunity to make something sweet….and not have to have it at my house afterward. 🙂   I LOVE being able to give away desserts so they’re not staring at me every time I open my fridge.

This trip, we decided to make a trifle.  Which, as it were, is the signature dish my friend and I always brought to potlucks in college. Why?  Because it’s easy and can be healthy.  Notice, I saidcan be healthy.  This one….not as healthy as our typical fruit trifle. It’s a rocky road trifle!!  All of what you love in rocky road ice cream thrown into a trifle with angel food cake and whipped topping.  Magical.

Note:  we didn’t use nuts because my friend doesn’t like them, but feel free to throw some in if you’d prefer.

Fun story from this recipe:  Between the sugar rush and not seeing each other for the better part of a year, my friends and I ended up on the floor laughing while making this trifle.  About what, I really don’t know. I am inclined to blame the mass amounts of marshmallows we ate while making it.  Really, none of us can be trusted with an open bag of those things…..

 

Rocky Road Trifle

Makes ~10-12 servings

  • One large prepared angel food cake
  • 2 small boxes (1 oz each) of Sugar-Free Instant Chocolate Pudding mix
  • 3 1/2 cups skim milk
  • 2 cups mini-marshmallows
  • 1 cup milk chocolate chips
  • 8oz tub fat free whipped topping

Whisk together pudding mix and milk for 1-2 minutes until smooth and slightly thickened.

Cut angel food cake into approximately 1-inch squares.

In a large trifle dish, place a 1/2 of the cake squares.  Spread pudding over cake.  Then, sprinkle 1 cup mini-marshmallows and 1/2 cup chocolate chips on top.  Spread 1/2 of whipped topping onto mallows and chips.

Repeat layering with the remaining portions of cake, then mallows & chips, then top with remaining whipped topping.

Easiest. Recipe. Ever. Right?!  Trifles tend to be better if they sit in the fridge overnight so the cake has some time to absorb the moisture from the pudding…..but you don’t have to wait if you don’t want to 🙂  As a matter-of-fact, my friends and I barely even made the dessert because we kept munching on ingredients. (That being said, adjust the amount of chocolate chips and marshmallows as needed…we went a little crazy with those so the measurements here are simply estimates)

Happy ….baking? Well, ok, happy layering!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Trifling Need for Rocky Road

  1. Glad you could leave it in MY fridge! I say hi to it every time I open the door.
    And then I eat it.

What are your thoughts?

