Granny’s Peach Cobbler

Sometimes, you have to indulge a little. For me, that means making any of the desserts my granny used to make when I was a kid. She was the quintessential southern woman. Loving, family oriented, a great cook, and quite the little spitfire. I miss her very much, but I’m so glad to have a few of her recipes so we can make her best dishes. (Though like many grandmas out there, her recipes include instructions such as “until it looks right” without a clear explanation of what “right” really was.)

Today, we recreate her peach cobbler. This recipe is SO good….but not at all something that can be considered a healthy choice. It is an indulgence but hey, everything in moderation. Stay tuned for a healthier version.

Also be sure to take a look at Granny’s Peanut Butter Fudge recipe by clicking here.

IMG_0529

Fun story: I made this the last time I visited my parents in my hometown. My mom had to help me since the recipe didn’t have baking times listed or hints on what to do, and I had no idea how brown it should become. This turned into quite the comedy show as my mom saved me from burning the butter, came in to cut the peaches up so there wouldn’t be huge chunks in the cobbler, and gave me little pieces of advice like “then I lick the spoon” when we were done with the utensils. 🙂 When asked if she thought it would be about 9-10 servings, she said “NO! like 3-4….” then either called me crazy or said ‘let’s be real’…both of which are common phrases in our house. My poor dad has laughed at this insanity for years (between my mom, sister, me, and my nieces….my dad and brother-in-law are highly outnumbered by women)

Now for the recipe…

Classic Peach Cobbler

Makes 9 servings (give or take)

  • 1 stick (1/2 cup) butter
  • 1 cup + 2 Tbsp self-rising flour, divided
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar, divided
  • 1 Tbsp oil
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 large can of peaches in juice (do not drain!)
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon

Heat oven to 375 F.

Melt butter in a 13X9 inch baking pan.

In a large saucepan, combine peaches, 1/2 cup sugar, cinnamon, and 2 Tbsp flour. As it begins to warm, cut up peaches a bit. Bring to almost boiling, stirring occasionally. As it’s warming up, complete the following step:

In a large bowl, mix together 1 cup flour, 1 cup sugar, oil, milk, and egg until well combined. Pour mixture over melted butter in pan.

Once peach mixture is almost boiling, pour into pan over the flour mixture. Cut through the mixture with a spoon or knife.

Bake until browned, about 40-45 minutes. (Tip: my mom showed me that the cobbler browns quickly once the edges begin to brown…so watch closely in the last minutes of baking)

I highly recommend vanilla bean ice cream to top this cobbler. Something magical happens when the cold ice cream mixes with the warm cobbler….yum!!

As I mentioned, I’m determined to make a healthy version of this so stay tuned. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Granny’s Peach Cobbler

    • Yes! Please do forward Grandma Fritz’s. I don’t have any recipes from her come to think of it…. And yes, this one is from my grandma Trula. If only she’d given me her pb fudge or biscuit recipes…

  1. When you say a “Large” can of peaches can you be more specific on the size? I’m trying to make my shopping list

What are your thoughts?

