My recipe says…so I’ll need…

I’m currently working on perfecting some new recipes for the site, but while I’m at it I figured I’d post about something I’ve run into recently. (Check back for the coming recipes, though. They’re gonna be great!)

Anywho, have you ever looked at a recipe and thought “great, but how much is that in real terms?”  For instance, say you have a recipe that calls for 4 cups of powdered sugar but you see you can only buy it by the pound in the store…how do you know how many pounds to buy??

No worries, I’ve got you covered! …with a little help from my wonderful Betty Crocker cookbook.  This thing is amazing and has a chart for “yields and equivalents” in the front. I’ve compiled the common baking ingredients to put here.

First off, the basics. Here are some common equivalents used in measuring ingredients:

  • 3 tsp = 1 Tbsp
  • 4 Tbsp = 1/4 cup or 2 oz
  • 1/2 cup = 1/4 pint
  • 2 cups = 1 pint
  • 2 pints = 1 quart
  • 4 quarts = 1 gallon

And now that we’ve gotten that covered, here are some specific ingredient exchanges:

Ingredient Recipe says… You’ll need…
Apples 1 cup sliced/chopped 1 medium
Bananas 1 cup mashed 2 medium
Bread 1 cup soft crumbs 1 ½ slices
Butter/Margarine 2 cups

½ cup

1 pound

1 stick (1/4 pound)

Chocolate Chips

Baking chocolate

1 cup

1 square/bar

6 oz

1 oz

Flour 3 ½ cups 1 pound
Graham cracker crumbs 1 ½ cups 21 squares
Lemons or limes 1 ½ to 3 tsp grated peel

2-3 Tbsp juice

1 medium

1 medium

Marshmallows 1 large 10 mini
Oranges 1-2 Tbsp grated peel

1/3 to ½ cup juice

1 medium

1 medium

Shortening 2 1/3 cups 1 pound
Brown Sugar

Granulated

Powdered

2 ¼ cups packed

2 ¼ cups

4 cups

1 pound

1 pound

1 pound

I hope this helps! Be sure to check back soon for more great recipes! 🙂

I say this type of thing a LOT. Gotta roll with the punches.
Image is property of http://www.cartoonstock.com

What are your thoughts?

