Banana Pudding Time

I’m very much a southern girl at times. No, this does not mean I wear cowboy boots daily or a 10-gallon hat…I’ve never owned either. But I DO enjoy quintessential southern food. Enter biscuits and gravy, chicken ‘n dumplings, and the star of this post: banana pudding!

This recipe is one passed down in my family (there really aren’t many of those). Best banana pudding ever.

Banana Pudding

Makes …a lot. Maybe 12-14 servings?

Ingredients

  • 2 (1-ounce) boxes instant vanilla pudding mix (I use sugar-free)
  • 3 cups skim milk
  • 1 14-ounces can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 8-ounce container frozen whipped topping, thawed (I use fat free)
  • 4 ounces cream cheese, softened (optional)
  • 3 large bananas
  • Vanilla wafers OR shortbread cookies

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, whisk together pudding mix, milk, and condensed milk for 1-2 minutes.
  2. Add cream cheese if desired and whisk to combine.
  3. Fold whipped topping into pudding mixture until well combined.
  4. Line bottom of separate container with cookies/wafers. Carefully layer 1 1/2 sliced bananas and 1/2 pudding mix on top.
  5. Repeat layering cookies, bananas, pudding. Top with final layer of cookies.

If you’re not a huge fan of cream cheese, you can leave it out. To me, it’s just as delicious without the cream cheese. Although, my aunt would not agree. šŸ™‚

What’s your favorite family recipe?

7 thoughts on “Banana Pudding Time

  1. I am wanting to make this Banana Pudding for a special dessert for Thanksgiving. It looks delicious! Can you please tell me if you use the 3.4 oz or the 5.9 oz box of vanilla pudding? I’m thinking it is the 3.4 oz. but just want to check before I make it.
    Thanks,
    Dee

  2. it is so funny how years ago while making bannana pudding i could not make the cream that usually goes on top and i didnt want to make it in the oven like my mom use to….so i decided to use whip cream..i also put vanilla and cinnimon in my puding along with crushed wafer and cool whip…so it is so ocool to know that someone else uses the same thing i use french vanille and butter cream pudding yes 2 boexes…lol

  3. Love your picks on southern food….I was raised on a farm in great, beautiful Kentucky! Our parents bought nothing but lard, sugar and flour. Everything was homemade. Your website reminds me of my mom and dad as well as those good ole days! So thanks.

What are your thoughts?

