Snickerdoodle Cupcakes

On Friday, I celebrated a BIG milestone in my world: my LAST day as a dietetic intern. Yay!!! Hopefully, the next time I’m working in a hospital I’ll have the RD title behind my name….and will be getting paid. Let’s be real, I’m a little more excited about the paycheck.

Anywho, so yes, big day.  My last rotation has been at the Veteran’s Affairs hospital, and I did what I always do on my last day at a location. I baked thank-you favors. This time, I made Snickerdoodle cupcakes and Pina Colada cupcakes.

I’ve always LOVED snickerdoodle cookies. My mom has the best recipe and their soft, cinnamon-y goodness is amazing.  Now I have it in cupcake form.

Snickerdoodle Cupcakes

Recipe adapted from Martha Stewart’s recipe….and made a bit more healthy.

Makes 28 cupcakes.

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups cake flour
  • 1 Tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 Tbsp ground cinnamon
  • 2 sticks (1 cup) unsalted butter or margarine, at room temp
  • 1 1/4 cup granulated Splenda
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/3 cup liquid egg whites
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cup skim milk
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line cupcake pan with paper liners.
  2. Sift together both flours, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon.
  3. In a large bowl, beat together butter, Splenda, and sugar with an electric mixer until light and fluffy.
  4. Add eggs one at a time, then add egg whites, mixing until incorporated after each addition.  Scrape the sides of the bowl often.
  5. Beat in vanilla, then reduce mixer speed to low.
  6. Add flour mixture in 3 batches, alternating with two additions of milk.  Beat until combined after each….But don’t over-mix! (it makes the cupcake tough)
  7. Fill paper liners 3/4 full. Bake about 20 minutes, rotating pans halfway through.  Cupcakes are done when an inserted toothpick comes out clean.
  8. Allow to cool completely in cupcake pan on a wire rack.

Now, let’s talk toppings.  Yes, you can make a cinnamon buttercream to go on top (more on that another day) but I made a simple cinnamon-sugar topping for these to simplify it a bit. Here’s how:

Cinnamon-sugar Topping

  • 1 Tbsp butter, melted  (OR you can use spray butter, which is fewer calories and much easier)
  • 2 Tbsp granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  1. With a spoon, spread a small amount of butter (or a couple of sprays if using spray butter) on top of a cupcake.
  2. Sprinkle a pinch of cinnamon-sugar on top of buttered cupcake, shaking off any excess.
  3. Repeat for all cupcakes.

Question of the day: What’s your favorite cookie? Maybe we can make it into a cupcake too!

One thought on “Snickerdoodle Cupcakes

  1. These cupcakes were truly yummy! I’m an icing nut but these were moist enough the icing wasn’t even missed. Thanks, Lauren, for baking them for Rebecca and me. We ate until we were stuffed!

What are your thoughts?

