Breakfast = Champions?

Admit it….do you skip breakfast? One of the most common diet myths I’ve heard is “skip meals to save calories and lose weight” and breakfast is usually the first meal to go.

Now let me divulge something, I am NOT usually a morning person.  Coffee is my BFF. But I’m also not one of those women who is pleasant when she’s hungry. So, I make a point to eat breakfast every morning, both for the good of my health and the safety of others.

Check out the “Healthy & Happy” page to find out why breakfast is such a big deal.

But let’s face it, when you’re not a morning person, sleeping in a little while sounds a LOT better than cooking breakfast.  Lately, I’ve been putting in a lot of time between clinicals, work, and school.  We’re talking about 60 hrs a week…whew! Forgive me if I’m not a star nutrition student with a plate of egg whites and fruit every morning.  (I will always make time for coffee though. Priorities.)

I’d been searching for something quick that I could make ahead and grab while I ran to my car.  Then (yay!) RD’s at my clinical rotation gave me a recipe for breakfast oatmeal bars.  These are filling, quick, and kind of remind me of french toast’s taste. A-mazing.

Breakfast Oatmeal Squares

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups old-fashioned oats (NOT quick-cooking)
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  •  1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  •  2 tsp ground cinnamon
  •  1 large egg
  • 3/4 cup canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie mix)
  • 1/4 cup low-fat milk
  •  1/4 cup sugar-free maple syrup
  • 1/3 cup Splenda granulated sweetener
  •  1/4 cup packed light brown sugar 2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly spray a 9-inch square baking pan with nonstick spray.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the first 5 ingredients (oats thru cinnamon) and stir.
  3. Add remaining ingredients and stir until well combined.
  4. Pour into baking pan and smooth top.
  5. Bake 25-30 min or until a toothpick inserted into center comes out clean.  Let cool on a wire rack for 5 min, then turn out of pan and cut.
  6. Cut into 10 portions and wrap individually.

Nutrition info

Serving: 1 bar.  80 calories, 2g fat, 0g saturated fat, 150mg sodium, 16g carbohydrates, 4g sugar, 2g fiber, 3g protein

So next time you have a hectic morning, grab a couple of these and some water (….and/or coffee) and you’re out the door!

Now, what’s your favorite breakfast food?

5 thoughts on “Breakfast = Champions?

  1. Do these turn out hard or soft? My dear old Grandfather has a dental plate in and he really doesnt care for hard things to eat he perfers soft. He also found out recently he is diabetic. Love the sugar substitutes. Perhaps raisins may be a nice additive to this recipie as well.

  2. Its like you read my mind! Youu seem too know so much about this, like you
    wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can ddo with a few pics to drive the
    message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is wonderful blog.
    An excellent read. I will certainly be back.

  3. Hello! I realize this is sort of off-topic however I needed to
    ask. Does buildfing a well-established blog like
    yours take a lot of work? I am completely new to writing a blog but I
    do write in my journal daily. I’d like to start a
    blog so I will be able tto share my personal experience and thoughts online.
    Please let me know if you have any kind of recommendations or tips
    for brand new aspiring bloggers. Thankyou!

What are your thoughts?

